Tags

, ,

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 13.28.55In late October and early November the inevitable questions arise: when and how to wear your poppy?

When should I wear my poppy?

The practical answer about ‘when’ is that, in Canada, poppies officially go on sale on the last Friday of October, so that generally dictates timing, unless you have one leftover from previous years.

I know that this year, after the events in Montreal and Ottawa, many people were keen to wear their poppies early as a show of support and sympathy, and I see nothing wrong with that.   No matter when you start wearing your poppy, it should be worn through November 11th, then tucked away for next year.

I’ve been asked whether it’s acceptable to wear a poppy year-round.  While it’s a nice thought to show support throughout the year, the impact of the symbol starts to wane over time, so it’s best to restrict it to a few weeks a year.

Where do I wear my poppy?

There are many people who feel strongly about this. Left-side, right-side? On a cap or hat, or not?

It’s generally accepted that we wear our poppies on our left-side, which is not only the traditional place for medals to be worn, but also considered to be closer to our hearts.  If you wish to wear it on your cap or hat the same applies.

That said, it is in fact the wearing of it that matters.  Not where you wear it.

Red or white?

I realize that there are some who view the wearing of a red poppy as promoting the idea of war, and for that reason white poppies, symbolizing peace, have appeared over the years.

We all have to make our own decisions about this. I take great pride in wearing my red poppy and view it as an important reminder of the past, rather than an encouragement to future conflict.  If you have questions about whether or not to wear a red or white poppy there are many articles and opinion pieces that can help you decide what is comfortable for you.

Poppy keeps popping off?

No matter which poppy you choose, you will lose it.  There are no two ways about it, we will all go through at least two poppies a year, if not more.  I have never had a problem with this ‘planned obsolescence’ – let’s face it, those pins are far too short – and I’ve never minded donating to get another one. But what I don’t like is being without one in the interim.

This year, I decided that I would donate a larger amount for one poppy (the equivalent of the five I usually run through) and secure it with the little rubber backing used for earrings. That way the Legion doesn’t lose the money, and I don’t lose my poppy!

Lest we forget

Whether or not you wear a poppy (red or white), November, and the 11th in particular, is a good time to reflect on what we owe to all the men and women of the military, past and present, who have helped shape our country, both in times of war and times of peace.  They have lived through experiences we can never imagine and we owe them a debt of gratitude.

